D³ database

Rang-Index für Epizoochorie

Zusammenfassung

 

Der RANG-INDEX FÜR EPIZOOCHORIE erlaubt eine Abschätzung darüber, wie gut eine Art an Epizoochorie (Ausbreitung durch Anhaftung an Tieren) angepasst ist und zwar im Vergleich sowohl mit anderen Arten, als auch mit anderen Ausbreitungsstrategien.

 

 

Merkmalsbeschreibung

 

Der RANG-INDEX FÜR EPIZOOCHORIE ist ein Index zwischen 0 und 1, wobei 0 die Art mit dem niedrigsten und 1 die Art mit dem höchsten Anpassungspotential an Epizoochorie bezeichnet. Wir nutzen hierzu eine Kombination aus Anhaftungspotential ('attachment potential', ATP; Will et al., 2007) und Retentionspotential ('retention potential', RTP; Römermann et al., 2005; Tackenberg et al., 2006) als Maß für das Epizoochorie-Potential. Dieses Potential kann als Anteil derjenigen Samen gesehen werden, die von einem Tier über längere Zeit und Distanz transportiert wird und dadurch prinzipiell eine Fernausbreitung ermöglicht wird. Der Index wurde für den Transport in wolligem Haar berechnet. Unsere Experimente mit unterschiedlichen Fellarten zeigen, dass, obwohl es durchaus Unterschiede zwischen verschiedenen Fellarten gibt (vgl. Römermann et al., 2005; Tackenberg et al., 2006), diese für die meisten Anwendungen jedoch im vernachlässigbaren Bereich liegen.

Im Speziellen wurde der RANG-INDEX FÜR EPIZOOCHORIE als der prozentuale Rang des (aufsteigenden) ATP*RTP der jeweiligen Art berechnet, und zwar in Bezug auf alle Arten, für die Daten zugänglich waren.

Ein Wert von z.B. 0,7 bedeutet, dass 30 % der Arten ein höheres (oder identisches) Potential für Epizoochorie aufweisen und ein höherer (oder identischer) Anteil an Samen über einen relevanten Zeitraum in Tierfellen transportiert wurde.

 

 

Herkunft der Daten

 

Der RANG-INDEX FÜR EPIZOOCHORIE wurde für alle Arten berechnet, für die die benötigten Daten vorlagen.

 

 

Literatur

 

Hintze, C., Heydel, F., Hoppe, C., Cunze, S., König, A. & Tackenberg, O. (2013). D³: The Dispersal and Diaspore Database - Baseline data and statistics on seed dispersal. Perspect. Plant Ecol. Evol. Syst. 15, 180-192.

 

Römermann, C. et al. (2005): How to predict attachment potential of seeds to sheep and cattle coat from simple morphological seed traits. Oikos 110, 219-230.

 

Tackenberg, O., Römermann, C., Thompson, K. & Poschlod, P. (2006): What does seed morphology tell us about external animal dispersal? Results from an experimental approach measuring retention times. Basic and Applied Ecology 7, 45-58.

 

Will, H., Maussner, S., Tackenberg, O. (2007): Experimental studies of diaspore attachment to animal coats: Predicting epizoochorous dispersal potential. Oecologia 153, 331-339.

D³ database

Epizoochory Ranking Index

Summary

 

EPIZOOCHORY RANKING INDEX allows an assessment how well a certain species is adapted to epizoochory (external animal dispersal) in comparison to other species and dispersal modes.

 

 

Trait description

 

EPIZOOCHORY RANKING INDEX is an index that ranges from 0 to 1, with 0 addressing species with the lowest and 1 addressing species with the highest potential for epizoochory. We use a combination of attachment potential (ATP; Will et al., 2007) and retention potential (RTP; Römermann et al., 2005; Tackenberg et al., 2006) as an indicator of epizoochory potential. This potential can be interpreted as the proportion of seeds that are transported by an animal over a longer time period that principally allows long distance dispersal. The index was computed for the transport in woolly hair. Based on our experience the difference between various fur types in EPIZOOCHORY RANKING INDEX is negligible for many applications, although some differences exist (cf. Römermann et al., 2005; Tackenberg et al., 2006).

Specifically, EPIZOOCHORY RANKING INDEX is calculated as the percentile rank of (ascending) ATP*RTP of the respective species in relation to the values of all species for which data were available.

A value of e.g. 0.7 means that 30 % of the species possess a higher (or identical) epizoochory potential and a higher (or identical) proportion of seeds are transported by animal furs for a significant time period, respectively.

 

 

Data sources

 

EPIZOOCHORY RANKING INDEX is calculated for all species with relevant data available.

 

 

Literature

 

Hintze, C., Heydel, F., Hoppe, C., Cunze, S., König, A. & Tackenberg, O. (2013). D³: The Dispersal and Diaspore Database - Baseline data and statistics on seed dispersal. Perspect. Plant Ecol. Evol. Syst. 15, 180-192. 

 

Römermann, C. et al. (2005): How to predict attachment potential of seeds to sheep and cattle coat from simple morphological seed traits. Oikos 110, 219-230.

 

Tackenberg, O., Römermann, C., Thompson, K. & Poschlod, P. (2006): What does seed morphology tell us about external animal dispersal? Results from an experimental approach measuring retention times. Basic and Applied Ecology 7, 45-58.

 

Will, H., Maussner, S., Tackenberg, O. (2007): Experimental studies of diaspore attachment to animal coats: Predicting epizoochorous dispersal potential. Oecologia 153, 331-339.